//
you're reading...
Parenting, Postpartum Depression

Ruby Tuesday: Her own voice

A lady approached me after group therapy yesterday to say about Ruby, “She sure is vocal!” She wasn’t there the day I mentioned the anxiety I have about Ruby’s vocal development, so I know she wasn’t just saying this to make me feel better.

Boy, was that a blessing. The part of me that believes in something like God suspects my mother has been working overtime in the prayer department. God must have rewarded those eighteen years she spent in the convent by answering her prayers and sending this lady to me.

So I suppose it’s not just in my head. It’s not just wishful thinking. Ruby has piped up a bit over the last week.

I still wouldn’t say she “coos” much. She doesn’t ooh and aah as described in the baby books. (Surprising that not everything unfolds according to a manual, isn’t it?) But she does grunt, grumble, moan, cough, croak, shriek and squeak. And she’s doing more and more of all that.

So I thanked this lady. I told her that her words were a gift and about my anxiety. She responded by saying, “Every baby has their own voice.” Yes, they most certainly do.

 
In completely unrelated news…don’t forget to sign up for the Infuse Your Mood tea giveaway! The winners will be announced this Thursday.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Ruby Tuesday: Her own voice

  1. You would have loved to have been me right now… Ruby sounded much better once I changed my hearing battery and turned up the volume on my iPad. It works wonders, my friend, and not just for Ruby, but anything else that makes a sound! She’s adorable and so animated.

    Posted by alundeberg | July 31, 2012, 6:41 pm
  2. She’s SO animated and cute! I love how excited she is and all her squeaks and squawks are so happy! I can’t wait until she says “Mama” and “Dada”! What a doll.

    Posted by Kari Phelps | August 1, 2012, 5:56 am
    • I can’t wait either but probably for a different reason. Chances are you’re not anxious that Ruby will never say mama. Ha! (I’m going to go ahead and laugh at that to lighten the mood.)

      Posted by Laura | August 1, 2012, 1:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Contact Me

I would love to hear from you! ratherthecouch@gmail.com

Of course I want you to come back!
Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 455 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

